SKU N/A Categories , , , ,

Woke Up with a Monster



This is the name Rick will make out the autograph to (optional)

Rick Nielsen personalized autographed Vinyl or CD. Due to the personalized autograph please allow up to 6-8 weeks for your order to be fulfilled.

Woke up with a Monster is the twelfth studio album by Cheap Trick released on Warner Bros. Records in 1994 and produced by Ted Templeman.

available from

Track listing

  1. “My Gang” (Tom Petersson, Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen) – 4:22
  2. “Woke Up with a Monster” (Nielsen, Petersson, Zander) – 4:32
  3. “You’re All I Wanna Do” (Nielsen, Petersson, Zander, Jim Peterik, J. Raymond, Terry Reid) – 4:03
  4. “Never Run Out of Love” (Nielsen, Peterik) – 4:08
  5. “Didn’t Know I Had It” (Nielsen, Todd Cerney) – 4:31
  6. “Ride the Pony” (Zander, Mark Spiro) – 4:31
  7. “Girlfriends” (Nielsen, Petersson, Zander, Bun E. Carlos) – 4:32
  8. “Let Her Go” (Zander, N. Graham/Publishers still pending) – 4:28
  9. “Tell Me Everything” (Zander, Petersson, Nielsen, Michael McDonald, Julian Raymond) – 3:59
  10. “Cry Baby” (Petersson, Nielsen, Zander) – 4:18
  11. “Love Me for a Minute” (Zander, Nielsen, Petersson) – 4:12

Japanese version

  1. “Sabre Dance”

The band also recorded a cover of John Lennon’s “Cold Turkey” during these sessions. It went to the Working Class Hero: A Tribute to John Lennon album while an alternate version was released on one of the Bun E.’s Basement Bootleg albums.


All singles were promotional singles only.

  • (1994) “Woke up with a Monster” – #16 US Mainstream Rock
  • (1994) “You’re All I Wanna Do”/”Cry Baby”
  • (1994) “Girlfriends”
  • (1994) “Never Run Out of Love”
  • (1994) “Didn’t Know I Had It”

Unreleased outtakes

  • “Don’t Blame It On Love”
  • “All Those Years” (Later re-recorded for the 2006 album Rockford)
  • “Down, Down” (Later re-recorded with different lyrics in 1996 as “Baby Talk” and released on the 7 inch single Baby Talk/Brontosaurus)
  • “Anytime” (Later re-recorded for Cheap Trick (1997 album)


Cheap Trick

  • Robin Zander – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Rick Nielsen – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Tom Petersson – bass, backing vocals
  • Bun E. Carlos – drums, percussion

Guest musician

  • Jimmie Wood – harmonica


  • Ted Templeman – producer
  • Lenny Waronker – executive producer
  • Jeff Hendrickson – engineer
  • Bino Espinoza, Judy Kirschner, Kenji Nakai, Kimm James, Scott Blockland, Ulrich Wild – assistant engineer
  • George Marino – mastering
  • Dave Wilmer – guitar technician
  • Chuck Elias – drum technician
  • Jeri Heiden – art direction, design
  • Mark Seliger – photography


Scroll to Top