Categories ,

The Doctor

The Doctor is the ninth studio album by Cheap Trick, released in 1986. It was produced by Tony Platt.

available from

Track listing

1.“It’s Up to You”Rick Nielsen, Robin Zander3:49
2.“Rearview Mirror Romance”Nielsen, Zander4:32
3.“The Doctor”Nielsen4:03
4.“Are You Lonely Tonight?”Nielsen, Zander3:47
5.“Name of the Game”Nielsen, Zander4:16
6.“Kiss Me Red”Billy Steinberg, Tom Kelly3:36
7.“Take Me to the Top”Nielsen, Zander4:00
8.“Good Girls Go to Heaven (Bad Girls Go Everywhere)”Nielsen, Zander3:21
9.“Man-U-Lip-U-Lator”Nielsen, Zander, Tony Platt3:48
10.“It’s Only Love”Nielsen, Zander4:45
2010 Wounded Bird CD reissue bonus track
11.“It’s Only Love (Single Version)”Nielsen, Zander3:30

Outtakes and demos

  • “Money Is the Route of All Fun” (featuring Roy Wood of The Move, available on the Sex, America, Cheap Trick box set)
  • “Fortune Cookie” (demo) (available on the Sex, America, Cheap Trick box set)
  • “Funk #9” (The Doctor demo) (available on the Sex, America, Cheap Trick box set)
  • “Name of the Game” (alternate version) (appeared on a Trickfest II prize cassette)
  • “Temptation” (officially unreleased)
  • “Dance to the Drummer” (officially unreleased)
  • “Mighty Wings,” the end-cut track to the film Top Gun was recorded during the demo sessions.


Cheap Trick

  • Robin Zander – lead vocals
  • Rick Nielsen – guitar, backing vocals
  • Jon Brant – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Bun E. Carlos – drums

Additional musicians

  • Dee Lewis, Coral Gordon – backing vocals (tracks 5-6, 9-10)


  • Tony Platt – producer, mixing, programming
  • Paul Klingberg – keyboards, sequencers, mixing, engineer
  • Jason Corsaro – mixing (tracks 6-8)
  • Andre Miripolsky – cover artwork
  • Ria Lewerke – art direction, design
  • Mac James – design
  • Veronica Sim – photography


Scroll to Top