Categories , ,

Dream Police

Dream Police is the fourth studio album by American rock band Cheap Trick. It was released in 1979, and was their third release in a row produced by Tom Werman.

available from

Track listing
All songs written by Rick Nielsen, except where noted.

  1. “Dream Police” – 3:49
  2. “Way of the World” (Robin Zander, Nielsen) – 3:39
  3. “The House Is Rockin’ (With Domestic Problems)” (Tom Petersson, Nielsen) – 5:12
  4. “Gonna Raise Hell” – 9:20
  5. “I’ll Be with You Tonight” (Nielsen, Zander, Bun E. Carlos, Petersson) – 3:52
  6. “Voices” – 4:22
  7. “Writing on the Wall” – 3:26
  8. “I Know What I Want” – 4:29
  9. “Need Your Love” (Nielsen, Petersson) – 7:39

    Bonus tracks (2006 Reissue)
    The bonus tracks of the 2006 reissue of Dream Police consisted mainly of rare live versions of songs from the album. “I Know What I Want” is noteworthy for being the b-side to their 1988 single “Don’t Be Cruel” and the only non-live track is a demo of the title track without its trademark strings.
  10. “The House Is Rockin’ (With Domestic Problems)” (live) – 6:16
  11. “Way of the World” (live) – 3:59
  12. “Dream Police” (No Strings Version) – 3:52
  13. “I Know What I Want” (live) – 4:43

1979: “Dream Police” b/w “Heaven Tonight” – #26 US, #4 Canada, #79 Japan
1979: “Voices” b/w “Surrender” (Live) – #16 Australia (UK)
1979: “Voices” b/w “The House Is Rockin’ (With Domestic Problems)” – #32 US, #12 Canada,(US & Canada)
1980: “Way of the World” b/w “Oh Candy” – #73 UK
1980: “I’ll Be with You Tonight” b/w “He’s a Whore” & “So Good to See You” (UK)
Unreleased outtakes
“It Must Be Love” (This song was given to Rick Derringer who covered it on his 1979 album Guitars and Women)
“Next Position Please” (Features Robin, Rick, and Tom on vocals, later re-recorded for the 1983 album of the same name)
“See Me Now” (“Way of the World” with alternate lyrics)
“Way of the World” (with Rick Nielsen on vocals)
“I Know What I Want” (with Robin Zander on vocals)


Scroll to Top